Listening and Watching

It's difficult to open our bedroom window without it squeaking and these starlings were immediately on high alert.  For a moment they had stopped squabbling about who had the right to be on the feeder and were working together to locate the noise and movement.

It's been a pottering kind of day with some recorder practice thrown in.  I haven't really settled to very much, pulled a few what I hope were weeds from the rockery.  As per usual, the plants I try with little success to grow in the mini meadow self seed in to the rockery below and do perfectly well in completely the wrong place.  The tiny little pale mauve plant which attempted a takeover in the summer continues to hide away in crevices, and for such a small head it has a heck of a long root system.  Actually getting my fingers on it to pull it out is difficult and it is very good at hiding within other legitimate plants.  I don't think I'm cut out to be a gardener but I do love the results when they work.

Over lunch I tried for a holiday insurance quote for next year and went for multi-trips as, in addition to our holiday, we are hoping to attend our niece's wedding in the US - crikey that was a shocker!  I clicked off the quote before accepting and will have to think again.  I guess that is what happens when you move in to the 'aged' bracket.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.