Wendy's World

By Wendles56

View from a Bench #6

Yay sunshine and blue sky!  Tony took the car to the garage to hopefully discover the nature of the message which keeps appearing on the dashboard, whilst I took advantage of the good weather to put the bedding in the wash.  I walked down to the garden centre to buy some natural firelighters and took a few blips from benches en route.  I'm holding off blipping from the bench near the bus stop partly because of the light but also because it will be mainly of traffic, unless I go early doors on a sunday.  Maybe I should take it in the semi darkness tomorrow when Bev and I are heading down to set up Parkrun??  But then if the park looks lovely in its autumnness, there are plenty of benches........Crikey, the decisions I have to make on this theme.

So I avoided the bus stop bench and took several blips from our pocket sized but very pretty village park which has several benches, three here in the children's playground.  We have lots of different trees in the park but this beech was magnificent in the light and, as the wind is strengthening, may lose its autumn finery soon.  I sat down on another slightly damp bench further down the parkwalk and a passerby asked me if I was photographing the lovely beech tree.  We fell into a conversation about photography which then continued on to running, hobbling and Parkrun.  I may have persuaded her to come and try the latter at some point.  JeanneB53, she is L one of your neighbours!

Onwards to the garden centre and firelighters and another bench blip from the many benches in the cricket ground, of the St Ives trees.  Oh heck, which one was I going to choose?  I've gone with this one because of the beech tree.  Hopefully, there will be another day when I can return to the cricket field.

Back home a message came through from the plumber to say he could come within the hour rather than sometime next week, result!  As it turned out he was the plumber's son G and his apprentice J and they soon cracked on with the leaky tap to discover a new tap was needed.  I asked G to look at the shower which is also problematic and, long story short, they fixed both, result!  Always good to have local recommendations from neighbours.

I've now cleaned out under the sink, replaced everything, emptied the veg peelings tub at the allotment, ironed name labels on Euan's new clothes and puddle suit, filled the bird feeders, booked haircuts and put away the washing.  A productive day and two more big jobs ticked off the list.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.