I'll call this the obverse . . .

. . . although it's not the side that is meant for viewing – see Extra.

Mrs B reminded me that a neighbour was having her roof re-thatched and that I should wander down and ask to photograph some of the process.  So I did.

The owner of the house agreed to my photographing the thatchers and invited me in for a cup of tea, where we discussed all manner of subjects before one of her sons turned up to make her computer go again (press and hold the power button).  One of the subjects was hunting, but I decided against letting her know my objections to the sport; it was enough to be sociable with an older lady with some forgetfulness, hoping that someone was doing something like that for my forgetful mother in Portugal.

The thatchers were a friendly bunch: I had never seen so many at work at once before.  It's a really expensive process and one that I'm glad that I don't have to save up for.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.