One day at a time

By MikeSlade

Cartmel

We are working our way back to the North-east and have stopped over at Meathop Fell Caravan Club site near Grange-over-Sands, in Cumbria. (Meathop is pronounced Meath-up.) Today I suggested we visit Cartmel, a village a few miles away. This went down well with Mrs and Miss S. Those who follow the gee-gees will know there is a racecourse there. There is also the Priory Church of St Mary and St Michael, spared from destruction by Henry VIII because there was no other church available for worship nearby. 
I managed to capture this shot over a very high wall (I’m very high) and one of the inside and one of one of the misericords. 
On wandering around the village I discovered a Michelin three-star restaurant and a Michelin one-star restaurant (owned by the same person) and this same person seems to also own his own farm and several rooms around the village where people can recover after spending a lot of money on food. I also observed a small two bedroomed semi-detached cottage for sale in the village, overlooking the racecourse. I was astonished to find out that the owners are asking £900,000 for it! Surfing the internet a little further I realised if I had another £200,000 I could buy a 10-roomed country hotel just outside the village. Is it me or is this completely insane? If you don’t mind I’ll blip a couple more of my day here tomorrow because we are travelling, unpacking and shopping when we get home….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.