Dad

Al Jarreau - I Will Be Here For You

This is my father. It comes as no surprise that I take after him in many ways. We're both performers and artists with a love for the limelight. And like my father I am searching for my purpose. And since day 1 he has been there to support my every single step, come rain, shine, whine and dine.

He introduced me to Beethoven, Miles Davis, Pink Floyd, Deep Purple, Jazz, R'n'B, and countless other artists but most importantly, The Beatles. He taught me to treat music with reverence and care. When I was little I would have to ask permission to put on a CD and he would teach me how to listen to it. I remember him telling me to look at the abstract pictures on a typical Deutsche Grammophon recording and try to imagine how the music interacts with it; how music creates images. Since then, whenever I listen to music, I see landscapes, vistas, grand metropolises and colours of imagination. Having taught himself guitar in his teens, he has used music to bolster our way of life and has never discouraged me from listening to whatever I like, even when it's not to his taste. I'm a fan of Metallica, Tool, Portishead, Bjork, hip-hop, breaks, all forms of dance music and he never complains, he either goes to another room or just puts up with it. :P

He gave me the chance to play with lots of amazing professionals in Australia and helped me to understand the finer points of performance. I'm now trying it out for myself in Japan thanks to his tutelage, and I hope to make something of it. Most importantly, he is unwavering in his support for me even when I can't. Although we obviously have our differences and our relationship continuously evolves, what remains true is his belief in me and vice versa.

I can write on forever, but it would be fruitless as it is only my perspective, and the affirmation I get to express myself the way I do today is all from him (and Mum of course). Thank you for your undying support.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.