Double Trouble

By HannahSpanner

Warning!!

Pregnancy alters your centre of gravity and balance.
I learnt this the hard way yesterday.

I fell out of the French doors!! Yep out of the door.
Put my left foot down and next thing I know I'm hurtling to the ground.

I hurt myself more as I was trying not to fall on the bumps. Which thank goodness I didn't do!
As a result I have this attractive swollen, bruised and sprained left ankle, a bruised right shin, grazed right knee and a gashed right elbow. I also managed to get a whole in the knee of my fav maternity jeans (ordered a new pair this morning).

So we spent yesterday afternoon in a+e at one hospital, we went there specifically as they have a maternity unit there but they would not see me there to check on the bumps and wanted me to come back today (great when you have a swollen foot and can't drive!!) even though my pregnancy is classed as high risk.
As I couldn't come back today I was told to ring my community midwife which I did. She was not happy that they had refused to see me or even checked them with a portable Doppler! And they should have rung the hospital where my primary care is based to arrange for me to be seen instead of me being told to do it.
Luckily I rang labour ward at hospital who's care I'm under (they don't gave a+e there hence the going to the other hospital) and they told me to pop down there and then and they'd put me on the Doppler. So we did and they dopplered away and found both heartbeats and used the on ward portable scanner to check them out. They are both fine and were kicking the crap out of one another (a sign of things to come?!?)

Me on the other hand I'm sore, bruised and stiff with a dented pride.

Think it's time to start to slow down!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.