The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Leaning

A busy day. Four hours at work. Stop at health shop on way home, buy emergency frittata. Eat half on the road.
Get home, give other half to Steve. Print some documents, pack car. We drive to Nailsworth, with my holding Steve's lunch on my lap.

Set up pop up shop in the residents' lounge of a retirement flats scheme. Residents arrive. Residents drink tea, and buy LOADS of my goodies. My tea grows cold. One hour later, ask for a nèw mug of tea, pack up and leave.

Unpack car. Drink more tea. Forty minutes later, we drive down to town for a talk as part of the book festival. Excellent talk, festival venue packed.

Drive home, try to make supper. Discover that chief ingredient, fish, is missing. None in freezer. Fingers are getting frostbitten while searching for it. Fortunately Steve's bought something else anyway. Put food in oven. Make apple compote at same time. Eat supper.

Put pop up shop away. Search for (very large) missing order slip. Find it among sample Christmas cards. Watch Have I got news for you with Steve. Continue tidying and processing orders until around midnight, when I discover that Channel 4 has turned into the Father Ted channel. Watch a few episodes for Auld Lang Syne, and fall into bed around 1.30 am. Wonder why my eyes keep shutting as I attempt to read....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.