Some Sort of Shelter

Today was planned for the Bridport Camera Club's outing to Thorncombe Wood, of Hardy's Cottage fame.  We were to meet at about 11 and wander to find photos of the woods, fungi and the pond.  I found only the woods, as I arrived late and became entirely absorbed with the colour and tones in the damp and even lighting.  I'm sure that I didn't do it justice, but there are some extras at my Flickr page.

The main photo is of one of several makeshift, skeleton, shelters that you find throughout the woods.  I suspect that there are courses in making shelters and that the lean-to type is the simplest to teach and to practise.  It reminds me of survival exercises that I was required to take as part of training for landing by parachute in enemy territory (or merely out in the wilds somewhere) if my aircraft would no longer carry me, for whatever reason.  It was damp, but it would have been a fine place to hide for a while.

And having braved the wet conditions for an hour or so, the café at the edge of the woods was very fine, with warmth, comfortable seating and decent coffee.  I won't mention the large brownie that I had as well . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.