Allsaintsday

As we say it in Swedish, Allhelgonadagen in one word, 'All saints day', the day we honour our dead by putting candles on our loved ones grave. The graveyards and churches are all lit and it's quite beautiful to walk among all the little flames everywhere. The tradition has grown over the years, I can't remember we ever doing it when I was little, at least not to the extent is has become through the later years. Some of you might call it Halloween,  a name completely alien to me, introduced by the tradesmen industry some years ago. It's of course been adopted by the younger generation.

My walk this afternoon went to a beach on the east coast of Öland I normally visit during spring, when the birds return from their winter quarters down south. This is old sea-bottom that easily gets flooded during spring and autumn. The rocks has over time been overgrown with moss and plants and is rather spectacular.

The evening was spent at the theatre where I saw a performance by a Swedish entertainer and magician, Carl-Einar Häckner, who I admire for his humanism and humour. His theme of the show was dreams this time. If you watch the clip you'll understand a little of his style, even though it was many years ago. I had a wonderful evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.