Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Busy zooming

Another day coming to an end with me so tired I can hardly type ... I've realised over the years that I'm getting worse and worse at mornings. How I got out to work in school for 9am all these years I now don't know - and how we did it with four people all going to the same place from a house with, at that time, only one bathroom - I don't know. It's as well they were boys.

This morning I had a Zoom conference starting from 9.30am with the actual session beginning at 10am. I had decided I had to make soup before I sat down to the computer, and left the kitchen looking like a bomb site and Himself - also at the meeting, but downstairs on his phone - in charge of the pot simmering away. The meeting was for Lay Leaders, nominally in the diocese but in fact attended by one or two from outwith Argyll (there's predictive text not liking "outwith" again, even though if it were English usage instead of Scots we'd not have the confusing nonsense of the green hill without a city wall that used to fox me as a child) and was on the varying facets of personal prayer. 

Hours later, with only a 45 minute lunch break, we finished in time to go out for a walk and a debrief with my bestie, who'd also been in the meeting. We pounded our way through the rapidly darkening Benmore Gardens as we discussed what people say about praying and the reality of our own experiences - I reckon one reason we're friends like this is the similarity of our approach to such things. The photo above was taken on the way down from the hilltop Andean Refuge, where we'd stopped for a breather; I liked the golden tree among the darker ones below us. 

Then it was home to fit in an Italian lesson or two before dinner - I hate the new-look Duolingo and the way they have taken control of learning pathways, just as I was doing well. I shall have to remind myself that the desired outcome is my being able to speak Italian, and that I'm beginning to achieve just that. Another dark episode of Babylon Berlin, a half-seen ten o'clock news (because I kept falling asleep) and I'm ready for bed. 

There is a front coming in - clouds from the west are just drifting over the moon... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.