Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Pull up a chair and sit a spell___

Or Fika

I was reading the prompt for the mono Monday challenge and thought about the same kind of social connection we have here in the south...at least where I live.   Maybe not so much in the current time but I can remember when I was a teenager or younger, neighbors would come over to the house, porch or yard to sit a spell and chat usually with sweet iced tea or if it was morning, coffee.  We would go visit them.  And family time with aunts, uncles and cousins were the norm.    Sometimes there was food.   It was a way of staying in touch with the every day lives of people we knew and loved.

I miss those days in this age of text messages and no face to face contact unless it is for a special occasion...sometimes only for a funeral.    I try to contact people (yes, sometimes, just a text!) and see friends for lunch, etc.  Everyone is always busy with their own lives and family.    My family is tougher as we are so distanced from where we all live.     But we make time when it works out to sit around the table with food.   

If you were here in South Carolina,  Blippers, we could sit on the back porch with tea/coffee and some cookies/biscuits.   Just chatting about whatever. 

Thanks to Heanku for the great prompt.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.