Fika

Haircut day, so we took ourselves to Manchester and our usual place. We were the only customers apart from M's Mum.

And as usual I had a walk around the city centre after my brief cut, knowing that I had 90 minutes before J would be finished.

Today's mono Monday theme is a Swedish custom I have never heard of, Fika. It's a thing in Sweden, the term apparently derived from a 19th century Swedish word for coffee, kaffi. We were only commenting last night that circumstance has meant that it won't be long before we can say we haven't been into a café or restaurant for three years, which is rather extraordinary. So I had to be a bit inventive with today's theme. 

I'm not sure if Emmeline Pankhurst was much of a coffee drinker (I suspect it was cups of tea back then), but she was a useful foreground to a coffee shop, the only one I saw with people enjoying a coffee outside on what has been a pretty bleak, grey November day.

Extra - a temporary installation on the side of a new apartment block on the Salford side of the River Irwell. All the books - whether subject matter or author or both - have a connection with Salford.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.