Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

End of Days

I found this Northern Paper Wasp staggering around on the deck this afternoon - clearly near the end of her days.  I scooped her up on a leaf and moved her to a safer location (and also away from a very curious brindle dog...).  And then, of course, I took some pictures, as one does.  For those who are curious, I was able to quickly identify this as a female by 1) the brown face (it's yellow on males) and the relatively straight antennae (other than the "elbow").  Whether she was a worker of a queen, I can't be certain.  

Today was the last in a string of unseasonably warm days so I loaded up the kayak and headed out for a short paddle.  It was quite windy which meant I had to put some muscle into getting across the lake.  And way too windy for a big camera so I contented myself with some cell pics.  I found a little cove where the water was calm and enjoyed just bobbing around for a while, letting the stresses of life melt away.  I was the only one on the lake so it was very peaceful - perfect for some zen time.  Tomorrow the temps will not get out of the 50's which is typical for this time of year.  

I'd ask that you send prayers, good juju, positive energy beams or whatever you can muster to my niece in South Carolina tomorrow.  She is having a long surgery to remove her thyroid after discovering cancer.  She will be in the hospital for a day or two and then at least a week of recovery at home - which will be challenging with three young boys at home (youngest a baby).  I find myself wishing I could do something tangible for her, but I also know that cancer is a personal journey.  

Dark chocolate tahini with sea salt today (thanks WRPerry for that recommendation).  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.