Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Voysey's Birds

Awful dark and wet day.   Pretty dull…grocery shopping and one other unsuccessful errand.   At least I wasn’t dumb enuf to go out and walk in a total deluge.
So you get my new book (Voysey’s Birds and Animals)  that Peter and Tatum brought me for my birthday from the Victoria and Albert Museum in London on their recent trip.  CFA Voysey  (1857-1941)—was an architect and a designer of furniture, wallpaper, textiles,  and tiles in the Arts and Crafts style of the late 1800s/early 1900s.  I think his simplified forms and limited palette are very imaginative and charming and there is a big collection of his work in the V and A.  I”m surprised but glad they went there. 
This piece is called Birds of Many Climes, probably from sketches he made from the Natural History Museum.    The book is laying on his design tea towel brought from the same place. 
Extra:   some seagulls.
More if you are interested.    He gets passed over by William Morris but I’m not sure why.  
The  book

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.