Glowing Leaf

I recently watched a YouTube video where a partly skeletal leaf was photographed against a dark background with light shining from above. This inspired me to have a go. However, I wasn’t able to find a suitable leaf on my quick walk between showers this morning! I did pick up some leaves and had a go at backlighting them instead. So here the flash unit is between the leaf and the background pointing upwards!

I quite like the rim light and the glowing effect and how it shows up the structures within the leaf. The weird lines around some of the edges are where the leaf curls over, not some bad attempt to ‘cut and paste’ the leaf!!

I have added a different leaf as an extra :-)

I will have to keep an eye open for some decomposing leaves to try again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.