IronWill2013

By IronWill2013

Aquatic life

A frustrating day at the office, but it doesn't please me to dwell on the negatives, so let's skip that ....

Bought some new pond plants after work. I blipped my pond a few days ago (mallard ducks came to visit me).

Last year, I dug out all the Yellow Irises that had taken over pretty much all of the deep pond area and placed them into "Extension One". The time will soon come (read soon as meaning this or next year), when "Extension Two" will be dug out and created. This will happen when I kill off all the nasty grass that surrounds my pond and prevents me from seeing the water.

At the moment, I have a very healthy collection of Iris Psuedacorus (Yellow Flag), (with tadpoles), pond lillies, Pickerel Weed (Pontedera Cordata), Zebra Rush (Scirpus Lacustris Zebrinus) and a couple of others, that I completely forget the names of.

Now I can add:

Monkey Musk (Mimulus Luteus)
Marsh Marigold (Caltha Palustris)
Summer Snowflake (Gratiola Officinalis)
Purple Lobelia (Lobelia Vedrariensis)
Water Mint (Mentha Aquatica)
Marsh St Johns Wort (Hypericum Elodes)

I'll take cuttings/divisions, and by this time next year, I'll have enough to fill the new extension.

Looking forward to it already.

Think the ducks will come back and visit me then? :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.