The Path to Watcombe Beach

It's been a very wet morning but the worst of the rain passed by about 11.30. I decided to go to Watcombe Beach as i haven't been there for a long time. The council closed it over two years ago after the path was damaged in a storm. According to t'internet walkers say it's manageable unless you have mobility problems. It's tremendously steep and although some of the steps are lying at crazy angles they seemed to be quite easily passable to me. I suspect the damage was caused by lots of water coming down and destabilising the ground below the steps. Going down was easy, it's the getting back up that's more difficult but it always was. It's fine if you stop to puff and pant every so often!

By the time I got down to the beach it started to rain again. I took a few shots down there but I think the shot I liked best was this view of the beach looking down through the trees. I've added one from the beach as an extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.