Feet up

I've blipped quite a few local benches, some with people with their feet solidly on the ground, some with people dangling their feet because they don't reach the ground. This is the first "feet up" one I've blipped.  
We woke up to over an inch of snow this morning. I added some extras. Most of it has melted. There was very little in town when we went shopping, always surprising the difference in amount of snow when we drive up the island. The sun was out and it was good to see this young woman enjoying it. Very cold and no sign of it getting much warmer this week, but at least it was warm enough today to melt most of the white stuff. You can see the salt sprinkled on the boardwalk to prevent walkers from slipping. 
We'll be watching the midterm elections in the US. I heard a great version of the Buffalo Springfield protest song from the sixties, "For What It's Worth" by Stevie Nicks. A quote from her: "..it seems like today, in the times that we live in — that it has a lot to say…” I agree. Some of the lyrics definitely ring true:
"There's something happening here
But what it is ain't exactly clear
There's a man with a gun over there
Telling me I got to beware
I think it's time we stop
Children, what's that sound?
Everybody look, what's going down?
There's battle lines being drawn
Nobody's right if everybody's wrong
Young people speaking their minds
Getting so much resistance from behind"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.