lovelife209

By mindful_life

Wild Walk

A spontaneous lunch time walk with my colleagues today in the rain and wind was a welcome break in the day. Not only a change to connect with people I spend so much time with, but we also acknowledged how wonderful it feels to get the fresh air. Refreshingly invigorating.

My run was wonderful this morning with my good friend Geri (photo extra) who offered some kind and helpful words in light of my struggles this week having intentionally broken my run streak. Some post run meditation, which set me up nicely for the day.

Today I acknowledge my gratitude for the wonderful friends I have in my life. Those who are there to offer an ear and advice, empathy and understanding. And those who can make me smile and laugh. And I hope that I can do the same for the people in my life.

We are a social species. We are supposed to interact with our pack. Life is very different now and we find ourselves segregated, cut off by distance or circumstance. Connecting with people makes us feel good because we have chemical responses in our brains that happen to try and make sure we do it again and again. So… I challenge you to reach out to someone you may not have contacted for a while. And just notice how it makes you feel. And maybe the recipient of your gesture may let you know how it made them feel…


“Friendship is based on the oldest
and most intrinsic human awareness that there is more to life
than just ourselves."
-Christopher Hansard

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.