Maggie, Maggie, Maggie........

A quietish day. This morning I made a chunky soup which we had for tea. 

After lunch we went out to see Emma and Raffy. As we were a bit early we stopped at the café at the Infirmary Museum on the City Campus of Worcester University for a coffee.

On arriving at Emma's, Andy showed me three newspapers that had been found in a picture frame when the picture was removed; two issues of the Daily Mirror and an issue of Worcester Chronicle, all three from April 1979.  They were all in good condition and I spent some time looking at them.  It was a time when a general election was to be held on May 3rd, Margaret Thatcher v Jim Callaghan.  The Daily Mirror was, and still is, very much a paper of the left, putting all its support behind the Labour Party.

I used to enjoy the comic strips in the Mirror so I've added that page to the extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.