Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Another piece of Kettering from Saturday.

Today I finally remembered to count how many bridges I cycle over on my way to work. I think it's nine, plus two road bridges that I go under. The ninth bridge doesn't actually cross the river nor any of its side channels, just a ditch, which so far has not contained water, though I imagine it will be one of the first places to fill should the Great Ouse burst its banks.
My employer owns a small fleet of little white vans. There has been a bit of staff churn lately meaning that we have a few vans without personal mahouts. Therefore one member of staff has been asked to take a different van out and about for a little drive each day just to keep it happy. I thought it might be a good idea to take advantage of this fact to get a spare screen back to my flat so I can work this weekend with two screens, given that working with only one is a struggle. Permission was granted and so I took a quick flit back home in the sunshine at lunchtime in a chauffeur-driven van to drop off the screen and cables. Then, after dark, I cycled back home over nine and under two bridges.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.