Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Fahrt reprise

This collage shows the reason for our arrangements for this week: the gathering together of a group of about fifty people among whom I don’t feel old with selections of whom we made several memorable trips abroad in that far-off pre-plague era. These trips, known to the participants as “Fahrts”, were an extension of the school trips our leader, a historian, used to lead when he was a teacher, and gave this crowd of adults the same liberating experience of foreign travel without personal angst as well as several learning experiences. (Our first was a “mini-Fahrt “ to the battlefields of the Somme.)

I could go on and on, but will content myself by saying that today we ate far too many cakes, talked and laughed ourselves silly, watched a slide-show with hilarious captions, remembered Fahrters who had died and gradually became used to the people we had become in the years since last we fahrted together.

I’ll stop now - leave a bit to the imagination. I spent the evening with my hostess doing Italian and talking nonstop. We had a glorious walk this morning - I’ll add an extra once I’m home.

If I remember…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.