Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Living it up ...

This has to be the latest I've ever left a blip - 12 hours after my usual time. The reason is in the photo - we were out for dinner with friends and talked ourselves (and ate ourselves) into a stupor. Our destination was that building in the distance with the row of bright lights below its roof - once the Glasgow Hotel, now The Tryst. In all the almost 50 years we've been here, I don't think I've ever been inside, even though it's only five minutes' walk from our door, so this was quite an exploration. You may note the complete absence of people - indeed, of life - in this scene: that is downtown Dunoon, the oldest part of the town, at 7pm.

The day before that was pretty normal - shopping (slightly better-stocked shelves than usual), fitting in an Italian lesson in time to get me extra points in the evening, making us late for dinner by fitting in the evening session. We also went for a walk - only a mile - in the afternoon, though as we picked the wrong direction to go in we ended up being rained on slightly which wouldn't have happened had we turned north.

Actually there were two abnormal activities in the day. One involved a travel agent (on the phone), a cruise company (on the phone) and a trawl through visa requirements for various destinations in the Middle East. (I know. There's a war on.) I question the usefulness  of a travel agent if they can't answer questions like this for a trip they have arranged, but we're stuck with them now. This was mainly Himself's baby - I merely sat at my computer prompting him. Later, having discovered that Himself has been using his mobile phone far more than he'd anticipated when I set up the plan (don't ask), I had to arrange to migrate his plan (they use this verb transitively: I wouldn't) to unlimited calls and data like my own. I have to say that Vodafone came up trumps with a charming and extremely helpful agent who sorted it all for me in an unstressful sort of way, so that was ok.

Ok, then, except for having so little time to myself that I was able only to throw on some clean garments to go out for dinner, and arrived at the restaurant in sore need of a lie-down. 

I think I can't actually cope with too much high life...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.