Flossmo

By Flossmo

It Isn't Rude, It's Art

Yesterday was busy. I was out of the house by 7:30 to meet up with a colleague in Guildford. She then drove us both to Denbies Winery in Dorking to act as stewards for our studio's current exhibition. I don't get out into the traffic at that time of the morning very often these days and I had forgotten how busy it can be. I'm so glad I don't have to do it any more.

The exhibition had been beautifully curated with my prints either first of last in the sequence, depending on whether you are a clockwise or anticlockwise person (see extra - mine are the seascapes). There was plenty of great art from the studio's artists and such an amazing variety of styles and subject matter. We had a reasonable footfall but sales were slow - mostly cards and similar. Sign of the times I guess.

My favourite set of prints were on the theme It Isn't Rude, It's Art, made by Simon from the Ochre PrintAble disability art group in collaboration with Jule who runs the group. They made me chuckle. Tracy Emin charges ten times as much for similar work. I will buy one when I go back for the 'meet the artists' session on Sunday. 

It was a slightly faster trip back but still an hour and a half so I missed my creative writing group and they, the next episode of my story. There's always next week.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.