Solid and Ephemeral

I spent a lot of time looking for the perfect item to put on our mantel and this is the winner an Ittala Finnish Glass vase. I love the shape and the shadow it cast on the wall, one of the reasons I bought it,  caught my eye.

John asked me to go with him for the long awaited visit to the dermatologist, to be an advocate and an extra set of ears. He is the husband of my dermatologist and they practice together in the same office. I saw him once and recommended him to John because I thought he would be easier to talk to. 

It turns out that Dr. Jennie, who was beginning to doubt herself, was right. The underlying cause of the itching is eczema exacerbated by a systemic allergic reaction. He prescribed a antihistimines and a cortisone cream with the instructions to use it 'liberally' despite what it says on the label. I liked his analogy to putting our a fire with water. 'You don't just put a drop here and a drop there, you have to flood the whole thing with water'. If he doesn't feel a lot better by next Monday, he might consider oral steroids.

I think he feels a lot better already....

For the record I am quoting From a column by E.J Dionne Jr captioned,

GOP OFFERED RAGE AND TRUMP, VOTERS SAID NO
...Republicans could yet emerge with very narrow control of the House and possibly the Senate ...and make governing hell over the next two years.
But even if it does gain a share of power, the GOP will have to reckon with how its fealty to Trump and trafficking with extremists is lethal, and how voters demand more from their politicians than rage. After six years of bowing, scraping and blustering, you wonder if Republicans have any capacity for introspection left in them.
--EJ Dionne Jr. is a columnist for the Washington Post

He said it better than I could have, and I'm going to let him have the last word.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.