Sebulon

By sebrose

Penicuik at night

Another day of travelling. Trains mostly. I attend meetings between Bedwyn and Newbury and between Reading and London. I ask a question walking along the Euston Road (because tube strike).

Then it’s London to Edinburgh. In the dark. I work, eat, relax. Arriving 10:30 to a partially closed Waverley due to a bomb scare. Tim O is waiting at The Doric. I hand over a bottle of Glenmorangie in thanks for his talk. We chat over a pint and it’s closing time.

It’s11:30 and the day buses have finished, but the night buses haven’t started. I have fifty minutes to kill, so walk through strengthening wind, to Cameron Toll. Another falafel wrap keeps my company.

A young, drunken, tattooed lad is also caught between bus services. It sounds like he’ll be in trouble when he gets back to the wife and bairns in Loanhead.

The car is at Penicuik. The streets are empty and the wind is really strong now. I’m home by 1:30.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.