Garden Work Day 8

There was so much dust from the cutting of blocks, and next door had their washing out, I felt very guilty. Lunchtime view of the back garden in the extra.

Last night I'd agreed to transfer half the monies due to the bossman, and he'd agreed to me knocking the cost of replacement plants and two doormats off the balance... as long as the cost was reasonable. Hmm, I think I've been fair.

If you missed it, last Thursday the diggerman removed a flowerbed and a bit else that I hadn't appreciated were in the way of the works. I had no chance to lift the plants or indeed keep the lovely topsoil, and as for both of my doormats who knows what happened to them!

So this morning I went to a local garden centre and spent £73 although the plants I bought aren't as large as those they're replacing. I bought some daffodil bulbs too, but couldn't get either rosemary or parsley, both of which I want.

Then onto B&Q for doormats and I found two really tough black coir mats at £5 each reduced and the garden section had both parsley and rosemary, but no penstemon anywhere so I'll be chopping the one I have in half! Note to self, always go to B&Q as the plants are cheaper, healthier and better stocked.

The total came to just over £89 which I think is reasonable - plants are not cheap - and I'll send him the receipts. 

Edit: when I put the bottle out for the milkman I noticed that the front downpipe connector hadn't been reinstated as it should've been. That meant a text message to bossman because as it is now, any torrential downpour won't drain away as designed i.e. into the connecting pipe and away into the drain underground, and we are forecasted to have more of such weather. I know I'm a woman, but I'm not an idiot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.