At the exhibition

Sheffield Photography Society has an annual exhibition in the Winter Gardens here (I think I blipped about this the other week). Members take turns as stewards, during the middle of the day when it's busiest. Today was my turn for the week.
Our exhibition looks good, and has been attracting many browsers, some of whom wanted to stop for a chat. But I also got absorbed in a second exhibition, that's sited alongside ours. It's based on some oral history work with young people in South Africa and in Ethiopia.  It works really well: there are short interview extracts alongside the photos, and also some short 'life history' books - altogether a really nice piece of work. I watched people pausing, looking carefully, reading the material.  I'll try to find proper details to append to this entry, as I think it must have a website. 
Apart from that, I also bumped into Ruth in the Winter Gardens. Sometimes she manages to get to a life drawing class on Friday mornings, in the gallery next to the Gardens. She's always happier when she's able to reconnect with her own painting and drawing, so I was really pleased to see her there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.