Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Kev playing the fool

Kev, one of Winchester's best known Big Issue sellers, has been wearing this giant poppy all week.  I asked where he got it from, he said he found it in the road. Umm!  On good form (especially in the face-pulling sense), he decided today was the day I should take his picture again, so I did. 

Have a look at his hat - the white poppy says 'PEACE'.  He simply added the word 'OFF'.  Well that's his sense of humour ;))

After that I went round to the west end of the cathedral for the two minutes Armistice Day silence.  Some cathedral person came out to say a few words and repeat the much-loved

They shall grow not old  as we that are left grow old.
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun and in the morning
We will remember them.

I couldn't help remembering coaching the dear old gent I used to visit.  He was 95, blind and had been asked to say it at an occasion - and I was the one making sure he really knew it!

So there we are, that's today.  Have a happy weekend, all  xx

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.