Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

A day of two halves

It's been the most beautiful day.  This morning I went down to the Broadway to catch a bus up to the butterfly reserve.  However, I couldn't help noticing how many young cadets were out in uniform selling poppies for Armistice Day.  What with that and the market and the beginnings of Christmas, town was stuffed tight as a turkey.  So of course I took pictures!  And belatedly bought a poppy!

After that I did go to the butterfly reserve, hoping to see hawks or perhaps the yellowhammer.  A female kestrel whipped out of sight as I walked along, but no buzzards or kites.  However, I DID see butterflies!  All red admirals, most high up with that lovely floating flight.  The one I saw landing is in Extras.  Butterfly Conservation for Hampshire and Isle of Wight has their flight time finishing in the last week of October.  And today's 11th November.  I saw and blipped my first one this year on 8th February  (it was a sunny day which I think had temporarily woken one or two up from hibernation).  With global warming you can almost see a time coming when they'll be around every month..

Anyway, 'nuff of all that.  Have a lovely evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.