Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Kes

I had such a lovely outing today, making my first visit to the butterfly reserve this year.  The sun had some real warmth in it, the sky was wall-to-wall blue and the larks were singing.  (In fact the birds have definitely decided it's spring though I'm afraid they might get disillusioned next week.)

This female kestrel was sitting at the top of a scrubby hawthorn tree.  I was amazed - but delighted - she let me get so close.  And on the way home, back down by the Nuns' Stream, appropriately I saw my first butterfly of the year - a scrubby over-wintering red admiral, who I'm sure will have gone back to sleep when the sun went down.  He's in extras.

Okay, that's me.  Happy Wednesday evening and have a good Thursday morning  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.