photosbyjon

By photosbyjon

Day 126 of 365 - Ford's Hospital revisited!

Welcome to day 126 of 365 (Finished image after Editing)

The original photo was taken late this afternoon. It is of Ford's Hospital in the city centre of Coventry. This is the second time that I have posted about this building, the first time was a few weeks ago on March 28th but I needed to add this to my project of Listed Buildings. The origin of Ford's Hospital or Grey Friars Hospital as it used to be known, dates back to the early 16th century. It was founded as an almshouse providing housing for elderly people. Later during the mid 19th century the almshouse was serving about forty women. The building was badly damaged during the Blitz on Coventry in the Second World War. It was restored with original timbers between in the 1950's. The Hospital was built on the site of a chapel within the former Greyfriars Friary.

The Hospital is classed as a Grade I listed building. The Hospital is number 6 on my list of 19 (Grade I) Listed buildings in Coventry that I hope to photograph.

As always the shot was taken with my iPhone 5. The photo was taken using the camera App MCPro for iPhone. The original image can be found here: Unedited original Image.

First of all I used PhotoToaster to edit the image. The edits were made by adding the Oil Paint filter and changing the effect by applying the Vibrant fx, Flood Light lighting, the Color Burst vignette and the Canvas Texture. Finally I used Distressed FX to add extra texture to the image using the Stirred overlay and the Lade Texture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.