photosbyjon

By photosbyjon

Day 127 of 365 - St Bartholomew's Church, Binley!

Welcome to day 127 of 365 (Finished image after Editing)

The original photo was taken late this afternoon. It is of St Bartholomew's Church in the Binley area of Coventry. The church was built between 1771-3 for William, Lord Craven of the nearby Combe Abbey (another Grade I Listed Building that falls just outside the Coventry listed building district). It now serves the parish of Binley. The current Church replaced an earlier one which was was known as St. Swithin's. Mention of an ordained minister connected with Binley dates back to the late 16th century. The most notable features in the Church stand as a reminder of links to the Craven family. Their coat of arms can be seen above the sanctuary, and the Craven Chapel was used in the past almost exclusively by their family & household.

The Church is classed as a Grade I listed building. The Church is number 7 on my list of 19 (Grade I) Listed buildings in Coventry that I hope to photograph.

As always the shot was taken with my iPhone 5. The photo was taken using the camera KitCam for iPhone and saved as a TIFF file before any editing. The original image can be found here: Unedited original Image.

First of all I used Photoshop Touch to edit the image. The edits were made by applying the Old Sepia filter and adding a vignette by altering the lighting to the image. Finally I used Distressed FX to add extra texture to the image using the HDR overlay and the Hera Texture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.