AviLove

By avilover

Mr. and Mrs. WIWA

Went a bit bird crazy today (like every day I guess...) and hit the Arcata Marsh, North Spit Jetty, Woodley Island, and Humboldt Bay NWR. My miniature Big Day attempt ended up yielding 65 species, which falls way more than 100 species behind the county record, but who's keeping track???

I saw a pile of exciting migrants, including Western Tanagers, Bullock's Orioles, wood warblers, and flycatchers. The Wilson's Warblers (whose four-letter alpha code is WIWA, as referenced above) were out in force at the Marsh. I must have heard or seen about 7 of them. I managed photos of both a male and the one female I spotted; they'd make a lovely couple if they'd been anywhere near each other!

This is my second species in two days named in honor of the early American ornithologist Alexander Wilson. My original blip of Wilson's Warbler, from April 2012, discusses his accomplishments a little bit.

I'm really happy with three other species I captured today, but the lady and gentleman Wilson's take it because they are my only unlisted species for the BlipBigYear.

My three alternates, if you're keen:
(1) Selasphorus hummingbird (coincidentally the same bird I blipped exactly 1 year ago!)
(2) Anna's Hummingbird
(3) Red Crossbill

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.