AviLove

By avilover

Tringa flavipes

The Lesser Yellowlegs. I've been down to the dairy ponds every morning getting shots of this bird, in continued hopes of blipping it, but then I keep finding something more provocative. Well, not today!

Its big brother, the Greater Yellowlegs, exists here in Humboldt in much greater numbers. This is the first Lesser I've seen here, and in fact only the second one I've identified ever. Physically there is very little difference between the two. They look essentially the same except that Lesser has a beak about equal to the length of its head while Greater's is slightly longer and upturned. It's a very subtle distinction, enough to be consistently challenging for me in the field. I'll blip it quick before I lose confidence in my ability to discern the difference!

This is my 4th Tringa sandpiper in 4 weeks. The genus makes up 13 species worldwide and includes the two Yellowlegs, two Tattlers, two Redshanks and two Greenshanks, the Willet, and the Marsh, Wood, Green, and Solitary Sandpipers. Many of these species sport brightly colored legs that inspire their chromatic monikers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.