Histrionicus histrionicus

I could only hope for such a stunner to blip on my last day in Humboldt! Behold the beautiful Harlequin Duck and his smitten mate. Not only is it fairly uncommon to find these sea ducks out at the Humboldt Bay Jetty, it is very unusual for this time of year. Harlequin Ducks breed in the fast moving montane streams and rivers of Alaska and Canada, returning to the sea afterwards to spend their winters foraging for marine invertebrates. Intriguing that this pair should still be hanging around the northern California coast, when there are more dazzling ducks to be brooded, hatched, and set to sea.

The name "harlequin" of course refers to the male's flashy clothes; the scientific name comes from the Latin "histrio," for actor. It's the only species in its genus, for no other duck of the sea looks or behaves anything like it. There are actually all kinds of names for the Harlequin Duck, including Painted Duck, White-Eyed Diver, and Squeaker. The latter references its uncharacteristic social squeaking, which has inspired yet another adorable name, the Sea Mouse.

Thus concludes my near month-long Humboldt visit. It was amazing to see my closest friends again after 5 months traveling through New Zealand and just soak in the northern California coast. This is one of my very favorite places and I love being here. Yet now the time has come to head off to another one of my favorite places--Yosemite National Park--where I'll be working for the next 3 months. I can't wait to see those mountains again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.