Bird walk to Colinton

Not a single workman crossed our threshold today. This meant that we were free to go out for a wonderful afternoon and evening of walking, bird-watching, drinking and dining with Jon, Katharine, and Jack.

Mr hazelh and I set off from our house on foot to meet the others at the Water of Leith Visitor Centre. On our way there we bumped into John Mowbray (one of my PhD graduates). It was great to see him and catch up on his news.

The others arrived at the starting point of our walk by bus. From the visitor centre we walked through Colinton Dell looking out for birds (mostly scarce) whilst catching up with one another. We also made plans for Christmas and Hogmanay. Our route took us through the Colinton tunnel, and it was here that we took the blipped selfie. I feel that the background of the shot is appropriate for the date.

As darkness fell, we walked up to Colinton village to look for a bus to take us back into town. We arrived at our destination a little early for our dinner reservation so first had a drink at the Voodoo Rooms before heading over to Zest for a curry feast. It was a very jolly meal, with lots of banter with the staff (some of it in French) and a super supply of after dinner mints.

By the time we reached home, my feet and knees were very sore. I fear that I will have trouble sleeping tonight, especially since I have also drunk more than my usual Friday night ration of wine...

Exercise today: walking (21,501 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.