TexMama

By TexMama

Lemons

About a week ago No.3 son came and asked me how to spell "Lemons"
"why?" - "because I need to write it on the shopping list so we can buy some, so I can make lemonade" - "Ohhh, I see" (confused expression)

So we wrote it on the list, and we bought Lemons...I thought half a dozen would be good but we bought 11 lemons...I wondered if we were going to buy the whole shelf full:0)

And yesterday we I quickly googled 'how to make lemonade' as apparantly it is something Im meant to just know already?!

We don't have a juicer of any sort but I discovered on youtube (aka. the homeschoolers answer to all questions) that you can do it by hand with a fork - you learn something everyday :0)

The lemonade was actually quite yummy, wish I'd known how easy and delicious it was, I'd have made it regularly.

I tried to explain that a lemonade stand is not going to do very well on a Monday, early afternoon, on a small dirt road that leads to about half a dozen houses at best - but undeterred they sat at the end of the driveway with their little table, lemonade, ice, cups, sign - awwww
No one drove by, not a single car :0( but I bought some of my own lemonade, half a cup for 50c!! and they didn't seem at all bothered that there were no cars. They had fun, and when their friends came home from school they shared the lemonade.
Apparantly we might have to do it again on Saturday when the road will be busier - so Im told.

In case you're interested:
1 cup sugar, dissolved in
1 cup water
1 cup lemon juice
3-4 cups of cold water
chill in fridge for 30 mins
enjoy :0)
Im going to add pureed strawberries next time....mmmmm


tried to post this yesterday but I couldn't get my pic to load

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.