Their Last Fling

I opened my blinds this morning to the cheery sight of the Meadows’ cherry trees putting on a last fling of colour before their leaves drop. These trees come into their own three times a year - once just as the buds form, then when the pink  blossom is out and lastly as the leaves turn in autumn. In between times they just look bored.

I am bored too today with cabin fever settling in. I went out early in the morning to get birthday chocolates from Hotel Chocolat but hurried home for a parcel delivery from Royal Mail scheduled for some time  between 11:25am and 1:25pm. It’s now 4pm and I’m still waiting. My gut reaction is that it’s not coming, but I am afraid to go for a walk and perhaps miss it. I wish they would update me. Amazon can do it why not Royal Mail?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.