On my Walk to Bruntsfield

It was too late for LeeAnne and me to realise the weather forecasters had got it wrong after we had cancelled our Friday dip in the Forth at Porty. The wind and rain never materialised- we just have to hope that tomorrow’s big adventure is not thrown by another wrong forecast. Watch this space

To fill the space I was presented with, I walked to Bruntsfield to claim my free birthday coffee and cake at Costa. Because I told the barista I never usually ate cake at 9:30am she put it in a bag to take home. So far it’s still in the bag.

This afternoon I made soup which might have won me the old Cook’s Badge for the Girl Guides when the tester gave you random items with which to cobble up a meal. All that was in the foot of the fridge today was 1 onion, 1 wilting leek, 1 sweet potato,some garlic and a stem of broccoli . I added some green lentils , paprika and garam masala, oh and a stock cube. The result is an empty fridge, and a pan of soup which fortunately doesn’t taste as bad as it looks.

It’s dark now at 4:30, but my virtual log fire is crackling comfortingly on the TV and I’m about to sit in its cheery presence and read my book.

My blip is vignettes of my morning walk. The only one needing an explanation is the extent of the demolition of the modern extensions to the Sick Kids’ Hospital in Sciennes Road.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.