Remembrance Day 2021

The eleventh hour of the eleventh day of the eleventh month, Remembrance Day 2021 and it seemed largely forgotten in Morningside where I was, with no halt in traffic or hubbub.

People who remember World War II are old now, my age , but there have been other wars that our soldiers have fought in and younger people remember them.

So many dead and was it all worth it? Certainly the Great Wars have secured general European peace but other wars have seemed to me to be pointless. Why has mankind not put their pugilistic energies before now in combining to fight to keep our world healthy for future generations?

Most families have been touched by war and mine is no different. Each year I remember my uncle Corporal William Swinton Young of the Highland Light Infantry who died in France in 1916 aged 18 … just a boy, like so very many more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.