WOR FLAGS

Newcastle were playing at home today against Chelsea - 5.30pm kick off.  So I made a leisurely start and caught a bus at around 2.30pm.  I wanted to go shopping before kick off.

When the bus stopped in the village to pick up passengers a chap sat down next to me and I recognised him from when we were both children living in the same street.  He lived in Number 61, my grandparents in number 59 and me and my family in Number 57.  I hadn't seen him since those childhood days. We chatted all the way to Newcastle - he was going to the match too.  He actually still lives in the same house - by himself. 

Once in town I decided to pop into Waitrose - it was the last day.... shop closed down today.  There was no fresh food in the shop at all - no fruit, veg, meat, fish etc.  Only a few packs of biscuits and tinned food.  I did think this would be the scenario as the shop has been slowly winding down for a few weeks.  But I could see some people pushing empty trolleys around wondering what on earth was going on.  Its a bit of a surprise that this shop is closing as its always been busy whenever I go and its in a great location inside the shopping centre near the bus station.  I will miss going there.  Today I did my shopping in Tesco instead.

Had a slow wander up to St James Park. The atmosphere in the ground is wonderful these days - and the flag display organised by Wor Flags plays a big part.  You can see some of their flags in my collage.  I have added an Extra to show the flags in my stand - the East Stand.  This display happened during the minutes silence for Remembrance. ( I didn't take the photo obviously - it was on one of the Newcastle fan sites. )

The big news this week has been our Manager Eddie Howe being voted Manager Of The Month for October  and our number 24 Miggy Almiron voted Player of The Month for October as well as winning Goal Of The Month too.  Happy Days at NUFC.

In the past Chelsea would have been counted as a top team who were hard to beat ... but not any more.  They aren't doing as well as Newcastle this season.  So the fans expected Newcastle to win.... and they did.  Final score Newcastle 1 Chelsea 0.  Not a particularly good match but three points is three points.

I went straight to the bus stop after the final whistle.  There must have been more than 50 people in the queue already.  Luckily the stop serves a few different buses and by the time my bus came the queue was a bit shorter.  My bus was packed but I did get a seat.  I finally got home around 9pm.  Ready for my evening meal. 

The wind dropped overnight and it was a nice dry warmish day. 

Steps today - 9,287

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.