All Work Together

A trip up to the daughter’s gaff to have a nose over outstanding work. I may have to drill through the ceramic tiles in the bathroom. The SK had the task of shooshing wee Ru. A challenge at times. 
Then via Craigleith to see her aunt. Her family is different from mine, in as much as my crowd knew all the gravestones and lives of our forebears, right back to the 17th century in places, whereas hers stops at her grandparents. Some weeks back, finding a small book that belonged to her nana, I started asking questions. Who was Isaac, born in the High St 1868? It’s a shame we didn’t catch her aunt with this a couple of years ago, as she couldn’t add much to the tree I’d already sketched out, but I got some photos to start piecing it together. A winter project! 
Later, back up town to Summerhall, where after a beer and burger we legged it to the dissection room for Rachel Sermanni, Solareye aka Dr Dave Hook (yes, from Stanley Odd), and at long last we got to see Rick Redbeard! It was an evening of discussion as much as (OK, more than) music but twas beezer. And Jamie Sutherland was a terrific compere. And to finish we all sang “we shall overcome.” We shall indeed, though at the time I felt quite overcome myself. That Barney’s IPA isn’t really for quaffing.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.