NightOwl45

By NightOwl45

Remembrance Sunday

Today’s Blip is a photo of a digitally stored photo I have of my paternal grandfather (he’s the one on the left of the photo).

I never met him (thankfully) but he was a Welsh miner and was by all accounts an abusive, miserable man. My father was the same.

He beat my gran up, he beat his children up and he didn’t even tell his family in Wales when his daughter died of an asthma attack at only 20.

My gran had five children (one daughter and four sons) and two miscarriages. She died when I was about eight years old. I was never fond of her, she was very cold but maybe she had had the life literally kicked out of her.

I often wonder if my grandfather had PTSD or cPTSD which of course would not have been recognised or diagnosed in those days. No excuse to beat up his wife and children even if he did.

He spent some time after the war in Italy, detonating bombs. He spent his latter years with poor lungs due to having been down the pit. 

My maternal grandfather also served in the Second World War but unfortunately I have no photos of his time in the army. I do know he was posted to England and Wales.

I hate wars but have the utmost respect for those who have served their country and wear both a red and white poppy. I adored History at school and took it as one of my Highers.

I hope you’re all having a wonderful weekend, thanks for all your comments, stars and follows :) xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.