Tree Shadows

I drove down to Shell Bay at Elie this morning so we could have a wander in the woods. The light was lovely and there was actual heat in the sun.
When we got to the big dunes I spotted a small white bird in the meandering burn, so we casually made our way a bit closer. It rose and flew around us before landing again in the burn. I realised it was a Small Egret. Not a bird we normally see here. I met a couple further on who said they had seen it here last year too. I was really chuffed to have seen one.
We didn’t walk anywhere near as far as we would have done a few weeks ago, but I was exhausted and there was nowhere to sit because the ground was so wet, so I dragged myself back to the car feeling rotten. It felt so good to sit down.
Home again to put my feet up and read for a while. I’ve just watched a beautiful golden orange sunset from the sofa. Can’t be bad :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.