Beinghere

By Beinghere

Dunino Den. An Ancient Druid Site

Described as "A Gateway to The Otherworld".

Haunted by fairies and steeped in Celtic legend.  A site of pagan worship that still attracts pilgrims today.
The pre-Christian holy site consists of two large crags below which is a clearing in the woods with a burn.

An ancient staircase carved into the rock leads down to the forest floor, where there are many carvings, some may be modern.
Ribbons and messages hang from the trees.  

"The Den was sacred to our ancestors and it`s wonder has now been passed on to us.  A place of healing and reflection, a tranquil and peaceful place.  A place where we can look to our past and dream of our future.  A sacred and magical place.  It is the secret within the forest which gives great gifts to those who make the journey down the path." (druidry.org)

The wood itself is beautiful at the moment with a carpet of fallen leaves.
We walked down the steep steps cut into the rock.  They are solid, but uneven and slippery with moss and damp leaves.
As soon as I was down at the level of the burn I felt uncomfortable.  It was damp and dark.  The ribbons etc added some colour and light, as did the deep layer of autumn leaves we walked on, but the overhanging crags of damp sandstone and the tree cover gave an enclosed feeling that I didn`t like.
I saw various carvings in the rock, which were impossible to date obviously, but many more on the tree trunks, which annoyed me.  They were current and obviously made with no thought to how that opened up the trees to infection.
We didn`t stay long, and Geordie happily pulled me back up the steps to the woodland, where we had a walk along the side of the burn.

That`s only the second time I`ve visited this place and I felt exactly the same way I felt the first time.  Uncomfortable is the only way I can describe it.  I felt no peace or tranquility, or any connection with my ancestors.  That may very well be the last time I go there.

The trees in their glorious autumn colours were a joy to see.  I also went in to Dunino Church, which is a favourite of mine, with bare stone walls and lovely worn wooden pews.  
Just opposite the church is a field of healthy looking brussel sprouts, on their way to being ready in time for Christmas.  I felt far more comfortable admiring the field in the sunlight, with the sky full of geese which had just risen from a neighbouring field, than I did in the Den.

Oh, and I cut my hair this morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.