Remembrance Day Car Meet

North Weald airfield was an important fighter station during The Battle of Britain and was established in 1916 by The Royal Flying Corps. I decided to take Ollie dog to The Squadron there as my act of remembrance, even though it was foggy and no classic planes would be flying.

I hit a traffic jam on one of the approach roads. I was following a Lotus Europa which I was very interested to see. Soon I spotted lots of other classic, unusual and exotic motors. After a while it dawned on me that I was in the queue for a car meet. I was in the van but I wound down the window and drank in the atmosphere. I loved the sights, sounds, smells and smiles. The little Lotus was getting lots of attention. Drivers were shouting, wondering whether it was overheating in the very slow moving traffic. There was an amazing feeling of camaraderie and such a wide range of vehicles from vintage models to modern supercars.

My main image is the Lotus Europa S2, which had a John Player Special decal on it, from the early 70s. I thought the JP Specials were all black. I didn't know about its mechanicals but I guessed from the stance that it has independent suspension. The blue car is a Ford Mustang Fastback GT350 from around 1966. They're in front of the Hurricane gate guardian.

I've added some more of the cars to extras. Left to right, top to bottom, Porsche 914, Mini Moke, Lotus Cortina, McLaren, Ronart, Cadillac, Ford Zephyr MkII, Datsun 260Z, Austin 8 and classic Land Rover. 

My father had a light blue Ford Zephyr MkII and my paternal granny had a car that looked very similar to the Austin 8. I've always liked the Datsun 260Z.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.