Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Avenue of Beech Trees

The weather forecast for the coming week is not great, so when I saw mist forming outside first thing I headed up towards the Chase.  Once there fog enveloped the area, making everything quite eerie.  I always feel that fog helps make sense of the woods that cover many parts of the Chase, separating the trees.

Despite walking extensively over the Chase in recent years I had never walked this track through Parr's Warren.  It was lined by beech trees, which at the moment could not be more colourful.  Combine that with the mist that was still hanging around and it produces this view (along with many others). Can't quite believe the range of colours in the scene.

Technical: I shot this as a panoramic image, of 8 vertical frames, stitched in Lightroom.  Some minor tonal adjustments, no vibrancy or saturation added. I wanted it to feel light and misty and chose a point where the path started to dip down out of sight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.