CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Ian McEwan interviewed at Stroud Book Festival

I went on my own to see Ian McEwan speaking at the Festival on a Sunday night in Stroud's Subscription Rooms. Helena managed to get me a comp ticket which was much appreciated. This was the last night of the Festival and perhaps was regarded as one of the main events of the packed programme, followed immediately afterwards by Jarvis Cocker talking about his latest book and then playing music on into the evening.

I hadn't read 'Lessons', his latest book, but I think I will buy it. I'd heard him recently interviewed by James O'Brien on his weekly podcast called 'Full Disclosure'. I'm a big fan of James O'Brien and highly recommend his podcasts as a way of meeting a wide swather of contemporary figures, including artists, authors, actors, politicians, activists and generally interesting figures in Britain's public life. That link will give you access to many of them.

I found his interview with Ian McEwan's both sensitive and revealing in ways I hadn't imagined. Seeing him tonight being interviewed by another local literary professor, Jon Cook, was equally rewarding and although it covered similar ground he revealed a lot more about his writing process and personal drives, since the book is admittedly semi-autobiographical. Once again both Jon and Ian are relatively local residents, and Ian is the patron of this Book Festival for which I thank him. 

We are lucky to have this Festival and the team who started and manage it have done a terrific job of making it pertinent without trying to show-off or grandstanding. Come and enjoy it for yourselves next year.

Hear Ian McEwan on James O'Brien's podcast on 22nd September 2022.
duration: 73 minutes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.