CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Neu-Lindsey nature reserve

As I drove along a small lane running across the south facing hillside of the Nailsworth Valley, I remembered this nature reserve was below me. I pulled onto the roadside and hopped out and then down the few steep steps on to the old hay meadow.

I visited once before and rather liked this small oasis of calm and its focus on preserving the traditional wildlife of an ancient hay meadow. The sign shows some of the plants and insect life to be seen throughout the year, so I've added a close-up of it as an 'Extra'.

My eye was caught by the distant slopes which lead up to the Cotswold Escarpment near Coaley Peak. Sadly the camera lens hardly shows it, compared to they lenses in my eye. But the autumnal colours are hanging on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.